Travel Like a Pro: Countries With No Visa Requirements for U.S. Citizens

Countries With No Visa Requirements for U.S. Citizen

Travel Suit CaseTraveling throughout our beautiful globe is an amazing experience to have. With each stamp on your passport, you’ll experience a new level of satisfaction at all the new and exciting places you’ve seen. Each country though has its set of rules that govern the type of paperwork you need to have when you enter their land. Of course, to travel overseas from anywhere in the US, you need to have a passport.

That’s just a given to leave the country in the first place. Whether you need a special visa to travel is up to that specific country. Hence, a visa is a permit from their embassy that allows you to enter the country. Some countries don’t require you to have a visa at all. While others might have you get one if you are going to be staying there for longer than 90 days.

Countries Without Visa Requirements

Countries that are considered part of the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative don’t make you get a visa. Furthermore, some of those countries include Mexico to our South, Canada to our North, and some of the islands in the Caribbean or Bermuda. Also, there are other islands as well that don’t ask for a visa. Islands like the Bahamas, Jamaica, Antigua, and Dominica.

Some other countries that will let you go without are Guatemala, Georgia, Albania, and Malawi. So, it’s helpful to check with the US Department of State’s International Travel Website to find out if the country you are traveling needs one. Sometimes, these requirement change without notice.

For example, Spain doesn’t require a visa for stays less than 90 days. After that, you need to obtain a visa from their embassy. Many of the countries in Europe have this same policy as part of the Schengen Agreement.

It’s Best To Be Prepared

Do all your research before you travel well in advance. Make sure you have all the appropriate paperwork you need in general for your travels. That way, you won’t be in danger of having to cancel any of your plans.

Complete List of Countries With No Visa Requirements for U.S. Citizens


Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina,Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy,Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco,Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San, Marino, Serbia, Slovakia,Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay

Armenia, Brunei, Georgia, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, South Korea, Mongolia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand

Botswana, Equatorial Guinea, The Gambia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tunisia

Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, New Zealand, Palau, Vanuatu

Other Territories

American Samoa, Anguilla, Aruba, Bermuda, Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands,Cook Islands, Curacao, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French West Indies,Gibraltar, Greenland, Guam, Guernsey, Hainan, China, Hong Kong, Isle of Man, Jersey, Kish Island, Iran, Kosovo,Macau, Montserrat, Northern Mariana Islands, Palestinian Territory, Phú Quốc, Vietnam, Pitcairn Islands, Hotels in Puerto Rico, Sint Maarten, Svalbard, Taiwan, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands