Uniform Schengen Visa: The Complete Visa Application Process (Guide)

A close-up of a Uniform Schengen Visa

What is a Uniform Schengen Visa?

There are currently 26 different countries that are all part of the Schengen area in Europe. Some countries include Austria, Greece, Italy, Norway, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, and more. Traveling to one or more of these areas, it is important to verify your travel documentation is in order. This may prevent any problem that may cause a delay or issue.

The Schengen visa application form is a simple one-page application form that you could download here.

Schengen Visa Types

There are three types of visas people who are visiting a country in the Schengen region will need. These include the:

  • Uniform Schengen Visa (or the USV)
  • Limited Territorial Validity Visa (or the LTV)
  • National Visa

You could download the Schengen visa application form here.

What is a Uniform Schengen Visa?

A Uniform Schengen visa allows a visitor to travel or reside in one of the Schengen countries for up to 90 days. Visits can take place once every six months, beginning with the original date of entry.

A, B and C Uniform Schengen Visas

The Uniform Schengen visa is furthermore broken down into three main categories: A, B, and C.

  • A category Uniform Schengen visa represents an airport transit visa. This means that the visa holder can travel through an airport in a Schengen country. Providing that they do not actually enter the country area. These types of visas are mandatory for people traveling through Europe. People who may be stopping at an airport in a Schengen country. Or, on their way to and from a non-Schengen area member.
  • AB category Uniform Schengen visa represents a transit visa. This particular type allows the person holding it to travel across one of the Schengen area member countries. It can be by car, train, or plane for no more than five consecutive days if their destination is outside of the territory.
  • A C-category Uniform Schengen visa is a short-term visa. People holding this type of visa can reside in any of the participating Schengen countries for a specified period of time depending on their purpose. A Single entry C category visa allows the holder to enter a Schengen country once. When they eventually leave, this particular type of visa expires.
  • A double-entry C category Uniform Schengen visa allows the holder essentially the same rights as a single entry, only they can enter the specified country two separate times over the allotted time period. Once again, as soon as a person leaves the Schengen country this type of visa will expire.
  • A multiple entry C category Uniform Schengen visa allows the person holding it to enter and exit the specified Schengen country as many times as they need to over a period of 90 days. This type of visa is allowed to be issued every six months. Starting from the day that the traveler first crosses the border from a non-Schengen country into the country of a Schengen member.

Expedited Visa and Passport Services

If your big trip to a Schengen member country is coming up and you suddenly find that your visa or passport is no longer valid or needs to be renewed, expedited visa and passport services can help make sure that your trip carries on without issue. These trusted third-party services can have your documentation in your hand in as little as 24 to 48 hours depending on the area of the country where you live.